OpenCL on AMD’s Zacate

10 10 2011

I bought a AMD Zacate E-350 with a Radeon HD 6310 video card. I have been doing some CUDA programming on an NVidia GTX460 and I was interested in AMD’s low-wattage alternative.

I am not the best at this but I have found it entertaining. I am a bit disappointed in the GPU and wished it was faster, however, I am really impressed at the speed of the dual core 1.6Ghz processor/Radeon 6310 considering how little power it draws.

I am doing this experiment on Ubuntu and ran into a few issues that I thought I would post here.

First, I downloaded and installed the latest ATI driver set. Second, I downloaded AMD’s Accelerated Parallel Processing (APP) SDK.
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/Pages/default.aspx

I installed the drivers and made sure they were working. After that I extracted the files out of the SDK. AMD provides a install script that I ran with sudo privileges” `sudo Install-AMD-APP.sh`. This installed the SDK to /opt/AMDAPP and it added the PATH to /etc/profile. I had to install a few packages before I could get the samples to compile.

`sudo apt-get install libglew1.5-dev libglu1-mesa-dev libgl1-mesa-dev mesa-common-dev libdrm-dev libxau-dev libx11-dev build-essential make`

There may be more packages required. I tried to list the important ones, but I may have missed a few as I did an install of basic compilers before undertaking this OpenCL project.

Once all the tools were in place, I granted access to the /opt/AMDAPP for my user and started the compile process.

`sudo chmod -R user:user /opt/AMDAPP`
`cd /opt/AMDAPP`
`make`
`cd /opt/AMDAPP/samples/opencl/bin`

If everything compiled and worked out then all the sample binaries should be in that directory and should be executable.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions, please post below.

~Stack~

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

