XBMC 9.04

6 06 2009

I soft modded my Xbox a number of years ago and installed XBMC. After lots of tweaking and tuning I got it exactly where I wanted it and never bothered to mess with it again. I use the XBMC modded Xbox _ALL_ the time, but I never upgraded it or bothered with the newer versions of XBMC.

After a discussion with a few people I decided that I really needed to try out the new 9.04 release for Linux. One of the things I was really interested in was MythBox running on XBMC.

So I dug up a P4 3.0 Ghz box with 3GB of ram. I slapped in a 500GB SATA drive and off I went to install XBMC 9.04.

I immediately noticed a few problems. The biggest one was that my video card “Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller” just wasn’t up to the task. So on a recommendation I bought a Nvidia 9400GT for VDPAU support.

Here are the steps I found that I needed to get VDPAU and MythBox enabled on my system after I did the install.

1) Switch to the command prompt (Ctrl+Alt+F1) and log in (xbmc is the user, your password should have been set during install)

2) `sudo apt-get update`
Now this is going to throw a few errors because one of the repositories doesn’t have the new key. Note the key it gives as an error!

3) `sudo apt-key adv –recv-keys –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com 0x6D975C4791E7EE5E`
If your key differs then replace it. `sudo apt-key adv –recv-keys –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com 0x__YOUR_KEY__`

4) `sudo apt-get update && apt-get upgrade`
This installed a bunch of packages for me, including a newer kernel. So I rebooted into the newer kernel before proceeding with the rest.

5) `sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx-180`
This installs the Nvidia drivers.

6) Switch back to the GUI (Ctrl+Alt+F7) and set VDPAU to be used in display
Settings->Videos->Player->Render Method needs to be set to VDPAU
Now you should be able to play back full 1080p videos with little resources. If you don’t have videos to test, try Big Buck Bunny @ http://www.bigbuckbunny.org/index.php/download (get the H.264 download! Not all formats are supported in VDPAU but H.264 is.) I reboot just to make sure the GUI is running the new driver (or just reset the GUI from the command line if you know what you are doing).

7) I had issues with some of the scripts not working as a packages were missing. To get the aptitude package working `sudo apt-get install python-apt`

8) Now for MythBox. Install wget with `sudo apt-get install wget`. Then `cd /home/xbmc/.xbmc/scripts/` and download the latest with `wget http://mythbox.googlecode.com/files/mythbox-svn-1105.tar.gz` This may not be the latest so replace the link with the latest from here @ http://code.google.com/p/mythbox/

9) Now we need to install the dependencies. `sudo apt-get install mysql-client nfs-common`.

10) Now find out where your MythTV paths are. This is completely up to how you install your MythTV server. If you don’t have NFS running on your MythTV server, then you need to go do that. Different distros have different install methods.

11) `vi /etc/fstab` arrow key down and hit the letter ‘o’ then type in your NFS information. Here is mine:
MyMythTVServer:/my/myth/recordings /my/myth/recordings nfs rsize=8192,wsize=8192,timeo=14,intr

Then hit the Esc key and type in `:wq` and hit enter. That should take you back to the command prompt.

Make sure your /my/myth/recordings exists! if not `mkdir -p /my/myth/recordings` if you don’t have permissions then add sudo in front of that command.

12) Switch back to the GUI and run your MythBox script. It will ask you for your MythTV settings and once you have tested them and all is OK, then hit esc and start watching your MythTV on your XBMC!

These are the notes I took. If someone has a problem or finds an error then post and I will make adjustments.

Have fun!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

