Untangle as a firewall

1 06 2009

It has been a little less then week since I switched from Smoothwall to Untangle. So far I am OK with it. There is still a lot to learn and I am still missing a few features from Smoothwall, but overall I think this is going to be a good move for me.

One little note (more for me in case of future referencing): I can’t seem to figure out how to enable SSH in the port forwarding. There is no rule for it. The options I have are: TCP, UDP, ICMP, GRE, ESP, AH, SCTP. If I try to forward the whole port, it seems that other computers on the LAN can no longer access that port at all (very strict rule apparently!). However, forwarding connections from the external interface to that port allow for other computers to use the port and allow for external access via SSH. My concern is that it allows /everything/ coming in and not just SSH traffic and I am not very happy about that. :/

Ah well. I am glad to have a working firewall again and glad that I am at least doing something proactive instead of continuing to whine about my issues with Smoothwall. It just feels better when I am working to resolve my issues and improve then to know I am stagnating.

Anyway, that is all I got for now. I am sure I will update as I use Untangle more.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

